To the Honorable Members of the United States Congress:

We, the Undersigned Members of the Maryland General Assembly, call upon you to pass a constitutional amendment to reverse the United States Supreme Court's 5-4 ruling in *Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission* (2010), which declared that corporations enjoy the First Amendment political rights of the people and toppled dozens of state and federal laws and many decades of judicial precedent preventing corporations (and unions) from spending corporate (and union) treasury funds in political campaigns.

This radical departure from judicial precedent and democratic values has already brought a torrent of corporate money, much of it secret, into American politics, fundamentally distorting public elections and campaigns for public office. The decision poses a direct and dramatic threat to government "of the people, by the people and for the people."

By bringing corporations into the heart of the political process, *Citizens United* changes the character of democracy. For-profit corporations (except benefit corporations) are legally bound to pursue the maximization of profits and economic advantage in all of their endeavors. This is one reason why most United States Supreme Court Justices, from Chief Justice John Marshall to Chief Justice William Rehnquist to Justice Byron White to the four dissenting justices in *Citizens United v. FEC*, have rejected the claim that corporations have political rights.

Corporations enjoy special state-conferred economic and legal advantages not enjoyed by natural persons, including limited liability of the shareholders, perpetual life of the corporation itself, and favorable treatment of the accumulation and distribution of assets. These advantages permit corporations to amass vast sums of money that are spent properly for economic purposes but not for the purposes of intervening in democratic politics and entrenching corporate power.

Article V of the United States Constitution empowers the people, the states and the Congress to use the constitutional amending process to protect republican self-government. This power has repeatedly been used by the people when the Supreme Court has undermined the progress of popular democracy.

As Members of the Maryland General Assembly, we sharply disagree with the majority decision in *Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission* and call upon the United States Congress to propose and send to the states for ratification as soon as is practicable a constitutional amendment to reverse this decision and restore fair elections and democratic sovereignty to the states and to the people.

Del. Aisha Braveboy	Del. Geraldine Valentino-	Del. Luke Clippinger
Del. Alfred Carr	Smith	Del. Maggie McIntosh
Del. Ana Sol Gutierrez	Del. Guy Guzzone	Del. Marvin Holmes
Del. Anne Healey	Del. Hattie Harrison	Del. Mary Dulany-James
Del. Anne Kaiser	Del. Heather Mizeur	Del. Mary Washington
Del. Ariana Kelly	Del. James Gilchrist	Del. Melvin Stukes
Del. Aruna Miller	Del. James Hubbard	Del. Michael Summers
Del. Barbara Frush	Del. James Malone	Del. Michael Weir
Del. Benjamin Kramer	Del. James Proctor	Del. Norman Conway
Del. Bonnie Cullison	Del. Jay Walker	Del. Pamela Beidle
Del. Brian Feldman	Del. Jill Carter	Del. Peter Hammen
Del. Brian McHale	Del. Jon Cardin	Del. Peter Murphy
Del. C.T. Wilson	Del. John Olszewski	Del. Roy George
Del. Cheryl Glenn	Del. John Wood	Del. Rudolph Cane
Del. Craig Zucker	Del. Jolene Ivey	Del. Sam Arora
Del. Curt Anderson	Del. Joseline Pena-Melnyk	Del. Sandy Rosenberg
Del. Dan Morhaim	Del. Joseph Minnick	Del. Shane Pendergrass
Del. Dana Stein	Del. Joseph Vallario	Del. Shane Robinson
Del. Doyle Niemann	Del. Justin Ross	Del. Shaw Tarrant
Del. Elizabeth Bobo	Del. Kathleen Dumais	Del. Sheila Hixson
Del. Emmett Burns	Del. Keiffer Mitchell	Del. Shirley Nathan-
Del. Eric Leudtke	Del. Keith Haynes	Pulliam
	Del. Kirill Reznick	Del. Stephen Lafferty
Del. Frank Turner	Del. Kris Valderama	Del. Steven DeBoy
Del. Galen Clagett	Del. Kumar Barve	Del. Susan Lee

Del. Talmedge Branch Sen. Paul Pinsky

Del. Tawanna Gaines Sen. Richard Madaleno

Del. Theodore Sophocleus Sen. Robert Garagiola

Del. Tom Hucker Sen. Robert Zirkin

Del. Veronica Turner Sen. Roger Manno

Sen. Bill Ferguson Sen. Ronald Young

Sen. Brian Frosh Sen. Thomas Middleton

Sen. Catherine Pugh Sen. Ulysses Currie

Sen. Delores Kelley Sen. Verna Jones Rodwell

Sen. Douglas Peters Sen. Victor Ramirez

Sen. Edward Kasemeyer

Sen. James Brochin

Sen. James Robey

Sen. James Rosapepe

Sen. Jamie Raskin

Sen. Jennie Forehand

Sen. Joan Carter-Conway

Sen. Joanne Benson

Sen. John Astle

Sen. Karen Montgomery

Sen. Katherine Klausmeier

Sen. Lisa Gladden

Sen. Nancy King

Sen. Nathaniel McFadden

Sen. Norman Stone