State of Connecticut General assembly



GOVERNMENT ADMINISTRATION AND ELECTIONS COMMITTEE ROOM 2200 LEGISLATIVE OFFICE BUILDING HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT 06106-1591 (860) 240-0480 FAX: (860) 240-0021

May 1, 2012

Representative Joe Courtney 2 Courthouse Square, 5th Floor Norwich, CT 06360

Representative Rosa DeLauro 59 Elm Street New Haven, CT 06510

Representative Jim Himes 888 Washington Blvd, 10th Fr. Stamford, CT. 06091

Representative John Larson 221 Main Street Hartford, CT 06103

Representative Chris Murphy 1 Grove St. New Britain, CT 06053

Dear Representatives Courtney, DeLauro, Himes, Larson and Murphy,

We, the undersigned, are writing in support of the Constitutional Amendment to overturn Citizen's United v. FEC and restore elections to the people. We ask that you firmly establish that money is not speech and that human beings, not corporations, are persons entitled to constitutional rights.

In Connecticut, we have a proud history of enacting clean election laws aimed at eliminating the corrupting influence of money on democracy.

Through small donations, public grants and limits on non-person donations, our state has effectively reformed the way in which state elections are conducted.

Our General Assembly enacted laws to attempt to combat the effects of the Citizen's United case, but no state law can adequately address the influx of large targeted expenditures from corporate giants and wealthy individuals. These expenditures are unlimited and no one is accountable for the content of the message. The consequence is that the general population has no idea who is actually influencing the outcome of an election. The bankbooks of the few are deciding the fate of the many. That is not democracy. Citizen's United has taken our democracy out of the people's hands and placed it squarely in the pockets of a few, wealthy individuals and large corporations.

Our democracy is founded on the principle of the consent of the governed. We do not consent to be governed by corporations and a few wealthy individuals.

We stand ready to be of any assistance in this matter.

Respectfully Submitted,

Senator Gayle Slossberg

Chair, Government Administration and Elections Committee

Representative Russ Morin

Chair, Government Administration and Elections Committee

Senator Donald Williams

Senate President Pro Tempore

Representative Christopher Donovan

Speaker of the House of Representatives

Senator Martin M. Looney

Senate Majority Leader

Representative Brendan Sharkey House Majority Leader

Senator Steve Cassano Senator Beth Bye Senator Joseph J. Crisco Jr. Senator Eric D. Coleman Senator Eileen Daily Senator Paul Doyle Senator Bob Duff enator John Fonfara Senator Toni Harp Senator Edwin Gomes Senator Andrew May Senator Anthony Musto presentative James Albis Senator Edith Prague Senator Andrea L. Stillman

Castelan e Cheronic

Representative Catherine Abercrombie

Representative Louis Esposito

Representative Bob Godfrey

Representative Bryan Hurlburt

resentative Matthew Lesser

Representative Elaine O'Brien

Representative Hector Robles

Representative Ezequiel Santiago

Representative Andres

Representative Mae Flexer

Representative Henry Genga

Robert Lemal

Representative Roland Lemar

Representative Elizabeth Ritter

Representative Kevin Ryan

Representative Linda Schofield

Fuden Grogins, #129 dustr

Chen Flaisham 18th Jungaly 106 the Jeff-1 74 74 74 James M. Allas Alala Corkos Pri family 59H harles D. Plemons J. 124t. Mrsn for 1/19182 Hotrus & Miller, 145 4h Daniel & Bones 57 J 27 9th

109 Gerda M. Gertile Fold Megna 97th Joseph L. Serra De Jan 12th Kiguth 133rd Marin Japan Jeskley By Matt Ritte 15+ Augustithe Bouker July 64 1 Alle Hard Jour 58th Al Joules 6th the Miller

Own Minage Sistrat Jany B. Butter 72 NS fand fan 112th Dash for 148 roshed My South 25 th Soul Mefr 27th Phitip J. Wille, 364 Kel Kil 4th Patricial Villie - 98 th Mi hui Dandello 897 Kim Rose 118th Rep. Jonnie Jago Grelissul Diley 46th

Representative Jonathon Steinberg

Representative John Thompson

Patricia Widlig
Representative Patricia Widlitz

RICHAND ROY

3012

SAIL K. HAMM

Peter Terajak Representative Peter Tercyak

Diana Um

Representative Diana Urban

Elisa Wright

Representative Elissa Wright

Janis Mang

En Altolel 825

Jele Schark S154